Suite for Cellos

for cello orchestra

Suite for Cellos is for cello orchestra or quartet. The first movement, "Hoedown" is fast and syncopated, with a brief sentimental moment in its center. The central movement, "Homage to Ravel," is based on a simple melody presented in various harmonic settings, each one progressively more direct. The final movement, "Scales," is a set of variations on the C major scale. All parts play nothing but scales, but the resulting combination is surprisingly rich. Suite was commissioned and premiered by Richard Mooney and the National Cello Institute.

score excerpt

back to

List of Works