premiered by

David Starobin, guitar; Tom Flaherty, cello


at Bridges Hall,

Pomona College, Claremont, CA

Timeflies: In the first movement, "slowly we turn..." the guitar sets up a clear beat which is continually challenged by each instrument in turn, with various syncopations that often become the new beat. The resulting motion ranges from the serene diatonic opening to the frenzied, fairly chromatic closing hocket passage. In "...gliding..." the cello plays a simple tune in natural harmonics, while the guitar arpeggiates an accompaniment. "when we’re having..." is a playful movement in which the beat is constantly challenged by regroupings and syncopations, but it refuses to be swayed from its steady pace, no matter what the distraction. Timeflies was commissioned by the National Endowment for the Arts for David Starobin.

Music of Tom Flaherty

Vorarlberg Resonance
Karl and Margaret Kohn, piano four-hands

Peter Yates, guitar; Tom Flaherty, cello

Trio for Cello and Digital Processor
Tom Flaherty, cello

Tom Flaherty, cello

Quartet for Viola, Cello and Digital Processor
Cynthia Fogg, viola; Tom Flaherty, cello

Time to Travel
Karl and Margaret Kohn, pianos


audio excerpt I (Peter Yates, Tom Flaherty)

score excerpt I

audio excerpt II (Peter Yates, Tom Flaherty)

score excerpt II

audio excerpt III (Peter Yates, Tom Flaherty)

score excerpt III

back to

List of Works